Blurb Now Has Design & Distribution Sewn Up

The design of my forthcoming book,Castles in the Air: A Family Memoir of Love and Loss is going to be as important as the content as I plan to illustrate it with photographs, drawings and other ephemera. I have for a while now been mulling over which print-on-demand (POD) distribution service to use – Ingram Spark or Blurb. I’ve always loved the look of Blurb books as Blurb was originally created with photographers in mind. And I have to say that I am very impressed with the professional look of a Blurb book. Their website looks great too and is easily navigable. Ingram Spark’s looks boring and corporate in comparison.

Of all the costs involved in indie publishing the one area where I resent paying for services is formatting. But up until now I have had to hand over the task as I’m not proficient with Adobe InDesign. InDesign worked beautifully with Create Space and Kindle but was spat out by Kobo, iBooks and all the other digital ebook distribution platforms I’m meant to be selling on but am not. I’m one of those people who as soon as there’s a technical hitch likes to throw everything into the Too Hard Basket. Blurb for the time being is offering a free ISBN if you use their new design tool Blurb BookWright or their Adobe InDesign creation tools. So now Blurb not only has a solution for formatting but has the additional carrot of a free ISBN as well as distribution through Ingram. Global distribution is a key factor in choosing a self-publishing service as it is the only way your books will have any chance at all to sell to bookshops and libraries.

So it looks like Blurb has won me over. Have you used Blurb recently or are you thinking of using it for your next book? If so I’d love to hear about your experience.
http://www.blurb.co.uk/about-blurb

Leave a Reply

