Promoting your Book

For the past couple of weeks I’ve been so absorbed with re-working my new non-fiction e-book that I have scarcely had time for much social networking but when I did finally come up for air, a blog post, written by Dean Wesley Smith, on what he refers to as bad promotion, has stirred something within me, too. Dean doesn’t pull any punches and he has strong opinions, including writing lists of DO NOTs in capital letters – something I find amusing.

Since the euphoria of the spike in sales after the KDP Select promotion has now worn off, I decided instead, to get on with the next book, heeding the advice that we hear from indie published authors who have more than one book to their names.

As well as reading Dean’s post, and in particular the advice where he says:

” DO NOT post more than once a week, at most, about your new book on Twitter, Facebook, or any other social media site. All you will do is annoy your friends. And then post only if you have something interesting to report.”

This comment underscores what I’ve been observing, for some time now, that the same authors with the same books, keep popping up on the various Amazon threads that I subscribe to. I’ve been tempted to ask these authors whether or not they consider that they have had increased sales from regular postings on these forums, as I must confess that when I see the same names popping up, I not only tune out, I unsubscribe to that thread.

I think though, that if you are a newly published indie author still finding their feet, that it’s easy to get swept up in the novelty of seeing your book published and all you want to do is tell the world about it – again and again. What can happen though, is, that as you spend all your spare time marketing, if the results do not immediately match the effort, it’s easy to get downhearted.

I think too, that you have to love marketing in order to do it successfully. It’s taken me a few months to admit to myself that I don’t much enjoying pimping my book and I would much rather market a book indirectly, by writing; whether that’s a blog post or on Twitter or, working on a new book. Now that I’ve been able to admit this to myself I have become much better at juggling my writing and promoting. For a while there I was marketing 100% of the time and now, thankfully the balance has shifted to writing 95% of the time and promoting 5%. And it comes as a relief, now that my writing life is back on a more even keel.

Leave a Reply

